top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Escalera

Catch up


It has been a while! This blog is to write about what I have been up to these past couple of months. Time has flown, winter training is done and dusted, and the season is about to start.


Let's go back in time to see how my winter has been.

Slightly different to previous winters, I have continued to race throughout! One race each month, all of which were in Portugal. It was a great experience racing with some really strong women, some being Olympic, World and European medalists! Some of the racing was a little bit of a baptism of fire, especially the madison class 1 race, where for the first time I was racing with 15 other madison pairs on the track, which was definitely one of the most hectic races I have done as of yet. The qualification rounds were also really competitive which meant I had to try and attack or do something different in order to be ahead in the sprint.


During the Christmas and New year period, I travelled back home to London to be with my family. I loved being back because Christmas Day is one of my favourite days of the year, getting into the Xmas spirit, spending time with family, giving and receiving presents, good music and tasty food. I was also able to train with old friends. From returning to the VCL group rides, specifically the annual Brighton ride, to also going on Windsor rides with my best friends to get the best cinnamon buns around. Overall it was a great 3 weeks, just a shame I couldn't see all the people I wanted to, with COVID always lurking.


The past week I have spent with a couple of my new teammates training in my team's base, León. We were staying close to the city centre which was a refreshing change to the tranquillity of the town I normally live in. My teammates and the team's directors Humberto and Eneritz really welcomed me into the team so the transition was quite easy. I was able to start riding my new road bike and wear all my new kit, which was so exciting.


Coming now to the present day, we have recently travelled the 9 hour journey south to Almería, where some of the girls will race. But for me my road race debut for Eneicat-RBHglobal I will race on the 6th, in Vuelta CV Feminas in Valencia. The race isn't too hilly so hopefully it will suit me but never the less, it is my first UCI 1.1 race against World Tour teams so it will be a fast one!


After this, I will be heading to a track camp in Tafalla with the Spanish federation where I will train with a handful of Elite and Under 23 cyclists. I’m really grateful to be have been given this opportunity to train with some of the best track riders in Spain.

Following this, I will be racing the Spanish track omnium and madison championships in Mallorca for Madrid.


It will be a busy couple of weeks but I will keep you up to date.



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

August

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page