top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Escalera

I think I have just finished College!!!

Updated: May 30, 2021


What now? Well I have just finished my A levels and wow what a relief! Time seems to have flown by and I can not believe I have finished my education. Although I plan to return to Uni at a later date, this will not be in the next couple of years so I am finally free! Like anyone, exam time is very taxing, so I was training slightly less to fit in my revision. Even so, due to the stress, I became ill with a cold. Not the best thing to have at the moment because it can be easily perceived as Covid, but at least I could take that little bit extra time off of my training to enable me to do more revision.


Now that I have finished, I want to make the most of being at home before heading back to Spain on a more permanent basis, fully taking advantage of being around family and friends that I would normally take for granted until they are gone and I am alone in a foreign country. Personally, I think the move abroad is a much bigger deal at the moment and can certainly feel a lot more isolating than in previous years, with travel being more restricted. While tests and quarantine are mandatory for travel to and from Spain, making quick trips back are both expensive and impractical. Therefore I stress the need for utilizing opportunities I have now. I have made plans with my cycling and college friends making the most of restaurants and most of entertainment industry reopening.


In preparation of arriving at my new flat in Spain, I have been readily gathering bits and bobs here and there to be as fully equipped as I can possibly be. I find this process really exciting, even though I’m quite nervous, but at least if I am all set, then the transition should be smooth and more relaxed. I have started packing already, despite not leaving until the 8th of June, as I am one of those people who will always forget something.


While being at home, my focus has been fixed mostly upon track, making the most of the extraordinary facilities available for me to use at Herne Hill velodrome before I leave. The forever-welcoming community there is one of the things I will miss most about the UK but when I am back home, for certain I will be visiting. In addition to the amazing people at the track, opportunities for derny training are frequent. They are great fun and incredible trainning so I have been lucky enough to be at the track for these sessions. I have also been concentrating on track a little more as I would like to prepare and race in the Spanish track championships this year, now that I have my Spanish nationality. The process had continued and dragged on for a long time but after a successful visit this past week to the consulate, I can officially say I am Spanish!!


For now I continue to prepare for the big move to Spain and will be back with another blog once I arrive in Spain, hopefully about my first road race with Rio Miera, my new team in my first Copa España of the year in Valladolid!


186 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

August

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page