top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Escalera

My season wrap up



This season was far from anything I would have ever imagined. From finally getting my Spanish nationality to then being able to represent Spain in the world and European championships, a few short months after.


I came into my early season in March with good form, picking up a third on the road in Pamplona, and then a win on the track in Tafalla. But racing was put on hold for a couple of months while I finished my A level exams. I returned to Spain in June and swiftly started racing for my new team Río Miera picking up a few podiums here and there but not the win I was looking for.


July turned out to be my last month of road racing because from then on I shifted all my focus onto track. Racing for Spain at Euros and Worlds was never on my agenda early on in the year, but after a great week racing at the Track national championships, winning 3 national titles, I was offered a place to race. The months of August and September went by like a whirlwind travelling to Holland and Egypt; hardly having time to relax at home and truly appreciate the amazing experiences I was having.

To finish the season off, I got a 6th place at the UCI 17è Trofeu Internacional Ciutat de Barcelona which is an under 23 and Elite omnium. It was great to have a taster of what next years racing may be like, against some big names including the current European road and track champion from Italy.


After a long unexpected season, I have just finished up having some time off to recover and reset before the next block of training begins. Only now have I been able to properly reflect and also look ahead about what my goals may be for the next season.


Although this year I learnt how to play a team role, I never got to properly showcase my abilities on road as a second year junior which was a shame. Next year with Eneicat RBHglobal I am excited to start my first year as an under 23, racing for a UCI pro continental team in more European countries and hopefully pick up some results along the way.


259 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

August

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page